Snowbirds

“I have to say, while I enjoyed taking a year off from official responsibilities, I’m very much looking forward to being productive again. Cheers, happy Sunday, and I’ll talk to you soon!”

Hey, remember when I wrote this, way back in August?

 I suppose “soon” is relative. For some people it means next week. Apparently for graduate students, it means sometime around Christmas when I’m finally done with the semester and can actually take a breath. Oy.

*sigh*

 That said, business school has been a fun experience so far, even if I spent my first semester studying harder than I had since my flight school days just to stay afloat. The first few months of the program had been frontloaded with a bunch of quantitative-heavy subjects – statistics, accounting, microeconomics, etc – that have always been my Achilles’ Heel, so I was expecting that I would have to drop off the face of the earth for a while. The good news? My efforts paid off, and I wound up with a higher GPA than I could have hoped for. The bad? Well, supposedly I live in a great city called Washington DC, although I couldn’t tell you the first thing about it.

What IS that thing?!

 Oh well, it’s all good. There’s so much to get caught up on, and the nice thing is that I’ll have a nice, long sailing trip over the next week. Chuck decided to be a snowbird this year and flee the “cold” winter up north –

“Winter” = 70 degrees

 -and brought the boat down to Saint Augustine, Florida a couple of weeks ago. After my finals were finally done, we visited my family on the West Coast for Christmas, then came to Florida to finish the cruise south. If all goes well, it will be a very good New Years in Miami!

I’m being told I need to hurry up and shut off the computer, so I will write more on the flip side. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

