Healthy comfort food? Say it ain’t so!

I’ve been on the boat alone for the past two weeks, so what do I do? Eat an entire pizza on my own. Twice!

But seriously, what IS that?!

But seriously, what IS that?!

Of course it was all for Very Important Research, since I’ve dedicated this time alone to experimenting on healthy alternatives to various comfort foods. Therefore the pizza I had wasn’t the strange-looking concoction above, but the results of my first attempt at making cauliflower pizza crust.

Cheese makes everything better!

Cheese makes everything better!

I used this recipe from iFoodReal, which worked out marvelously. Cutting the recipe in half makes enough “crust” for a small pizza that’s perfect for one. I did find that it’s a drier crust than your normal pizza dough, which may be an issue if you try to make a pizza without sauce. On my first attempt I brushed some olive oil over the crust, then layered tomato slices and cheese on top – delicious on regular crust, but far too dry on the cauliflower. So the second time I made sure to spread tomato sauce on before the toppings, and it came out much better. That said, it doesn’t taste quite like regular crust… but as pointed out by other food bloggers, pizza crust is really just a vehicle to get the good stuff into your mouth, so who cares?

Guilt-free pizza? Best idea EVER.

Guilt-free pizza? Best idea EVER.

One more thing: fat free cheese is awful. No flavor whatsoever (unless you like the taste of paper) and I’d rather spend a few more calories on something that’s satisfying and tastes good. However, low-fat mozzarella worked just fine in the pizza crust recipe, and I saved the real mozzarella for the toppings. Win-win!

My other healthy comfort food experiment was on mac and cheese made with spaghetti squash. What a novel concept. Why didn’t I ever think of this?

Because it's worth saying twice: cheese makes EVERYTHING better!

Brilliant!

There are many, many recipes out there, so I decided to go with the Baked Spaghetti Squash and Cheese from Skinnytaste. It’s really good, though I have to wonder if I made it correctly since the sauce came out a bit watery. If I make it again, I’ll have to try boiling it for longer, or maybe adding a little more cheese.

The love of cheese, obviously

The love of cheese, obviously

This was my first time cooking spaghetti squash, and I’ll definitely be doing it again! There are a ton of recipes I want to try, such as this Thai Peanut Sauce Spaghetti Squash from Leelalicious. I’d never even had squash before until this past May, when I went home for my brother’s wedding and Mom had cooked some in the microwave as a side dish. All she did was serve it to us with some butter on top, and I was like “OMG BEST VEGETABLE EVER!!” So I was excited to finally make some on my own… though I should have paid attention when she was cooking it. I mistakenly thought the edible part was in the middle with the seeds picked out, so when I first cut it open and saw how little there was, I almost threw it out thinking I’d gotten ripped off with a bad squash.

"What the crap is this?!"

“What the crap is this?!”

Thankfully I decided to throw it in the oven anyway. I felt quite silly after realizing that the deliciousness is actually in the fleshy part, and my small squash actually yielded over three cups of the good stuff. The more you know!

Still need to finish shopping. Dammit!

Still need to finish shopping. Dammit!

Leave a Reply

