Just call me Ms. Fix-it

I got to handle my first boat emergency on my own this weekend!

Well, this sucks.

Well, this sucks.

Ha, just kidding. I suppose “emergency” is a bit of an exaggeration. But I did get a chance to play Amateur Repairman – Chuck went to Key West with his squadron last week, leaving me to brave the sailboat life alone for a little bit. Not a huge deal, since I have a few things to take care of here in Virginia. (Besides, who wants to be nice and toasty warm in the Keys when you can be freezing up north, right?) But yesterday I stumbled out of bed, grumbling like we all do before our morning coffee, and stepped onto the kitchen rug which was soaked with water.

Ugh. NOT the best way to start the day!

Ugh. NOT the best way to start the day!

The boat isn’t insulated very well against the cold. Well, Chuck says it is, but I’m still cold, but he says that’s because I’m still getting acclimated after living in Hawaii for the past two years, but I say the thermometer is wrong and it’s way colder than 67 degrees in here… we’ve been having this argument since October, but I digress. The point is that it’s already cold on board, and having wet socks first thing in the morning just adds insult to injury.  Obviously the water was coming from under the sink, so I threw a towel down on the floor and started brewing some coffee. Priorities.

The boat was still afloat, so whatever the crisis was could wait a few more minutes, right?

The boat was still afloat, so whatever the crisis was could wait a few more minutes, right?

Once fully awake, I investigated further and saw that the leak was coming from the water purifier. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to identify why it was leaking, even after combing through the Nature-Pure Water Purifier how-to guide, so I decided the next best thing would be to stop water from going to the purifier altogether. The water hose going to the purifier is separate from the main hose going to the kitchen faucet, and since I didn’t want to shut off all the water on the boat (because how would I make more coffee?) I devised a hack with one of my trusty and plentiful hair ties.

Fixed!

Fixed it!

…okay, so “fix” may also be an exaggeration. But it’s been over 24 hours and the hair tie appears to be holding, so I’m calling it a good temporary fix until Chuck comes back and can get a new purifier to install. Thankfully the un-purified water is good enough to use for drinking, cooking, etc. Plus, he claims to be content with my solution, and wasn’t even disturbed that I didn’t reply to his frantic text messages right away. (Note to self: don’t text something like “the boat is leaking water LOL” to the boat’s owner and then proceed to ignore your phone for the next thirty minutes while you try and diagnose the problem.)

Anyway, I’m pretty happy with how things turned out, even though it was a pretty minor issue with a simple solution. One of my goals while living on board is to become more proficient at handling repairs and other such hands-on boat tasks. It’s a start, right? Bring it on, boat! (Wait, just kidding. I don’t need the electrical system to short out or anything!)

One thought on “Just call me Ms. Fix-it

Leave a Reply

