Amateur month

So I’ve been a civilian for almost a month now, living on a sailboat for about two, applying for school for the first time in over a decade, and navigating this wedding planning nonsense.

Nope.

I think this pretty much sums it up.

Also, epic fail: I somehow didn’t realize until today that it’s been so long since I’d updated. Ah well, I’ll just make another note in my long list called “How to Manage Time Effectively Now That I No Longer Have a Regular Schedule.” I knew I’d depended on the military for a lot of things, but it wasn’t until I was really out that I realized how much the Navy had been woven into my daily existence. Like the aforementioned schedule: oh man, was it awesome to suddenly be able to wake up, say, “I’ve got nothing to do this morning!” and go back to sleep! The flip side is that without a schedule, it can be easy to fall into a routine of putting things off until tomorrow, and wasting hours cruising the internet or catching up on Orange is the New Black or being otherwise unproductive. It’s taken me a bit longer than it should have, but I’m finally snapping out of it and forcing myself to adhere to some sort of Plan of the Day (to borrow yet another military term. I guess it’s true what they say, it takes a very long time to get it out of your system.)

Lord, if I ever go out in public looking like this, please send someone to slap me. Amen.

Lord, if I ever go out in public looking like this, please send someone to slap me. Amen.

But enough about that. I mentioned on my old blog that I needed to revamp things and figure out a new theme. I initially wanted to try and keep Trapped in Paradise just because I’d worked so hard on it, but after some thinking I just couldn’t figure out how to reconcile “Stuck in Hawaii” with “veteran trying to re-integrate into normal life/apathetic bride trying to plan a wedding that doesn’t suck/trying to go back to school after being out of it for so long/my new house is a sailboat WTF.” If there’s one thing that sticks in my mind from the “Zero to Hero” blog tutorial back in January, it’s that you need a coherent theme to draw – and keep – your readers. I don’t want to mislead anyone who lands on my old blog thinking they’re getting silly stories about Hawaii life and finding something else entirely. Hence, this site.

After some brainstorming, my fiance and I came up with an intriguing idea for a theme: it seems there are plenty of guys who decide to spend some time living on a boat, but not many of them can convince their significant others to go along with it. His idea is that I can write about the eccentricities of boat life, and the things I find that make it easier for those of us used to a lifestyle with more convenience. I can get on board with that (no pun intended.) I’ve already had to considerably downsize my wardrobe with the lack of closet space (solution: a cheap storage unit down the street) and learn how to cook with fewer tools at my disposal. (No space for a coffeemaker? No problem if you have an AeroPress!) Of course, there are still some things I’ll need to figure out, like how to keep up with the handful of TV shows I watch. Hulu and Netflix take care of most of this since we have a decent wifi network set up, but soon enough the new season of Game of Thrones will start, and if I can’t watch it… I’m not even going to consider finishing that sentence.

WHERE ARE MY DRAGONS?!?!!

WHERE ARE MY DRAGONS ?!?!!

Leave a Reply

